Roadside inspections are among a truck driver’s least favorite things, however, they are essential for keeping your trucks in tip-top shape.

Ensuring your fleet’s trucks are in the best condition can help keep truckers and those they share the road with safe. 

Understanding the different aspects of roadside inspections in the trucking industry can help prevent violations and make the process run smoothly for both your fleet and officials.  


Levels of inspections 


Level 1: North American standard 

This comprehensive, 37-step process includes a thorough inspection of both the driver and the vehicle. The procedure begins with reviewing the drivers credentials, including their driver’s license, certificates, daily hour logs and more.

Next, the official checks that the vehicle’s brake system, lighting devices, tires, windshield wipers and other aspects are working efficiently. 


Level 2: Walk around driver/vehicle inspection 

Level 2 inspections closely resemble the first level. However, the official will only check the items around the vehicle without physically getting under it. 


Level 3: Driver credential inspection 

During level 3 inspections, officials review driver documents, licenses, certificates, endorsements and more. Drivers are often also checked for drug and alcohol use as well as proper seat belt usage. 


Level 4: Special inspection

This type of inspection includes inspecting a specific item to either confirm or deny a trucking industry trend. 


Level 5: Vehicle only inspection

Level 5 inspections include a review of everything vehicle related and must be done without the driver present. 


Level 6: Enhanced NAS inspection for Radioactive Shipments

This inspection deals with radiological shipments and examines the way the driver handles and transports these materials. 


Level 7: Jurisdictional mandated commercial vehicle inspection

Unique from other levels, level 7 inspections are performed by designated government employees and other approved contractors. These kinds of inspections are typically used for school buses, hotel shuttles and shared ride transportation. 


Level 8: North American standard electronic inspection

Relatively new to the trucking industry, level 8 inspections are conducted electronically while the vehicle is in motion and requires no interaction with an officer. 


Tips for passing your next roadside inspections 


Conduct pre-trip inspections 

Pre-trip inspections help drivers identify issues in and around their vehicle. Taking your time on this inspection can save drivers and companies time and money while preventing potential issues in the future. 


Drive safely and legally

Simply obeying traffic laws can help prevent being pulled over for a roadside inspection. Avoid using your cell phone, speeding and always wear your seatbelt. 


Comply with HOS and ELD rules 

New driver mandates have made it a requirement for most drivers to use an electronic logging device (ELD). Understand the rules and regulations associated with ELD’s and hours of service (HOS) to avoid citations and violations. 


At TransWood, we value the safety of our drivers and those we share the road with. Visit our website or give us a call for more information about our company and future career opportunities. 

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.